Miller Time: In the Sachsenring spin cycle

Aussie MotoGP rider Jack Miller writes about a German GP that was a let-down, and talks about his contract chats for next year.

THIS STORY ORIGINALLY APPEARED ON REDBULL.COM

Hi everyone,

That wasn’t exactly what I had in mind to finish up the first half of the season. The Sachsenring has always been pretty good to me and it’s somewhere I’ve had some good memories – I had my first world championship race here way back in 2011 – and I’ve won here before in Moto3 and had a strong race in MotoGP last year too. Was pretty optimistic I could do the same today as well. So 15th wasn’t what I was expecting, and it’s a pretty crappy way to go into the break to be honest.

What happened? We’re still trying to completely get to the bottom of it as we pack up here now, but the grip just wasn’t there. I had a pretty cautious start by my standards and only managed to pick up one spot, but worse than that was that within a few laps, the rear tyre had been spinning up so much that it felt like I’d done all 30 laps, not three. The grip was gone, and I went backwards. I found myself scrapping with the KTM boys, and there were three of them this weekend with Mika Kallio in as a wildcard, so that made it harder. Bradley Smith got me on the last lap, and so I was 15th, same as Mugello as the worst result I’ve had this year when I’ve finished. I was pretty beaten up that weekend in Italy after the crash I had in Le Mans the race before, so that was a big factor there. Here, we just didn’t have it. I was 37 seconds behind Marc Marquez by the end, the biggest gap to the winner I’ve had all year and a bit of a let-down after how competitive we were at Assen last weekend. So, definitely disappointed with that.

I’ve come to the mid-season break with exactly one point less in the championship than I had last year after nine races which probably feels like a step back, but this year is going a lot better than the last one did. For one thing, I’m not fighting injuries the whole time like I seemed to be in 2016, and while I had the win at Assen last year and that was the majority of my points, I’ve been more consistent this time, and have managed to be in the points every time I’ve finished, even if some of those finishes have been a bit crap like today’s. I feel like I’m riding pretty well and we had the sixth at Assen which was really good, we beat some really strong guys there. So as much as today sucks, it’s been pretty decent, I can’t complain too much. I spent so much of the second half of last year hurt and missing races, so that’s not a road I want to go down again, that’s what I’m hoping to avoid when we get back into it from Brno.

Everyone else is heading off on a bit of a break now because we have four weeks between races, but I’m going the other way and packing heaps into the next few weeks until we get back into it with testing for the Suzuka 8-Hour, back home for my brother’s wedding and then back to Japan to race the 8-Hour before going back to Europe and the season. Suits me to be honest, I’d prefer to be riding and racing, but it’ll be good to do something different too. I’ve heard a lot about Suzuka, so it won’t be long until I get to see if it lives up to what people have said.

One more thing before I go, and that’s to mention the contact stuff that everyone seems to be talking about or has an opinion about. Some of it is close to being right, some of it is so far away from the truth that it’s ridiculous. The truth is that I’m close to being able to say what I’m doing next year but can’t confirm it yet, but it’ll be soon, I hope. And until you hear it from me or something official comes out, then it’s not true! We all want to get it locked away as soon as we can, believe me, but you have to work through the process and it’ll be make sense why soon hopefully – then people can stop asking me and hassle someone else!

Catch you for the second half of the year in a few weeks.

Cheers, Jack

Leave a Reply

