Miller time: One that got away

Aussie MotoGP rider Jack Miller reflects on what might have been in Argentina.  

THIS STORY ORIGINALLY APPEARED ON REDBULL.COM.AU

Hi everyone,

Anyone who watched Argentina knows that was one of the crazier MotoGP races we’ve had for a long time. It’s kind of hard to know where to start! As you can imagine I was pretty frustrated when I crashed out because the pace was really good. Four laps in, up to sixth … you can’t help but wonder where you could have finished.

The track was dry, but I just pushed it too hard at turn three, and that was that. The lap times were really good and I was closing the gap to the front guys. Up ahead I could see Marc Marquez, Valentino Rossi … and I’ll admit it, I probably got a bit too excited. But I’m not going to play down how good it was to be where we were, and just to feel comfortable on the bike again was massive for me, and a bit of a relief too because it had been a while.

It’s easy to look back after a race like that and wonder where you might have ended up. We could have been on the podium when you look at who I was ahead of and where they finished. Dani Pedrosa ended up on the podium after the Ducati boys took one another out, and Eugene Laverty was fourth, and I was well ahead of both of them. Sometimes things just break for you, and sometimes they don’t.

Argentina is a great track and one I’ve always liked, so maybe that’s why I’ve been fast there. Saying that, it didn’t like me too much this year, did it? It’s got a really nice flow to it and the corners come together well, and it’s great that we’ll be going back there for another three years. Riders always have favourite tracks, tracks they can’t wait to get back on, and that’s one of those tracks for me.

All in all I feel we made a big step this weekend, both with the set-up of the bike and how I’m feeling physically. I actually felt pretty amazing all weekend, which was a lot better than I was expecting. I worked really hard on preparing physically after Qatar, and when we got to Argentina I went walking in the mountains, it was for a few hours and not the easiest. I came through that feeling good and that carried over to the weekend. I’m not sure I’ve got a career as a mountain climber ahead of me though, but it went pretty well. The leg doesn’t even feel like it’s a problem anymore, and I couldn’t have said that two weeks ago.

I’ve been asked a few times about the incident with Valentino in practice in Friday practice, or the near-incident you could say. Yes, I nearly ran up the back of him – I haven’t watched a replay of it because I haven’t needed to, it was close enough at the time. I was aware how close it was even as it was happening. It caught me out because I thought he’d braked deeper than what he did, and I misjudged it a little bit. Imagine what would have happened if I did hit him! It was cool though, at least we could laugh about it afterwards.

After the way the race finished for me, I can’t wait to get to Texas. Hopefully we can have the same pace as we did in Argentina. Texas is a good track for me and I won there in Moto3 two years ago, and I got my first MotoGP points there last year too.

We head straight from Argentina up to Austin, and it’ll be good to have a couple of days up there chilling out and doing some training. And then a race next weekend. Can’t wait.

Catch you next time,
Jack

Leave a Reply

